, ,

220px-RiteofstringsThis what poor old wiki had to say “

The Rite of Strings is a collaborative album by virtuosi Al Di Meola, Stanley Clarke and Jean-Luc Ponty, recorded after their world tour in 1995. The album was recorded at Studio 56, Hollywood.

The trio reunited for a performance at the French jazz festival called “Jazz in Marciac” in 2007.

Material from the album was performed on tour by Trio! in 2005, also featuring Clarke and Ponty, with Béla Fleck on banjo instead of Di Meola on guitar.” Thanks Wiki, how dull.

What they left out that this album is absolutely brilliant. This has become my breakfast album i.e. the first album of the morning.

Every track is brilliant and again this is from Wiki,

Track listing

  1. “Indigo” (Al Di Meola) – 7:15
  2. “Renaissance” (Jean-Luc Ponty) – 4:33
  3. “Song to John” (Stanley Clarke, Chick Corea) – 6:00
  4. “Chilean Pipe Song” (Di Meola) – 6:12
  5. “Topanga” (Clarke) – 5:50
  6. “Morocco” (Di Meola) – 5:45
  7. “Change of Life” (Ponty) – 5:30
  8. “La Cancion De Sofia” (Clarke) – 8:30
  9. “Memory Canyon” (Ponty) – 6:00


The full album can be heard here on Youtube,


This is jazz/jazz fusion. My favorite is Renaissance but I even asked Gordon on this one as it was really hard to pick. To any guitar players, I love the guitar work in this song, how it blends beautifully with the violin.

Renaissance can be heard here,